It Is Well

There is something so revitalizing about the sun. And I don’t just mean for plants. If you’re not from my neck of the woods, you may not understand what a joy it was to see the sun today. We haven’t seen the sun in what feels like ages. There has been so much rain that much of the state is flooded, which is saying a lot since we’ve been in a drought for years.

I’m grateful to have spent much of the afternoon in the sun. We had lunch on the patio at the 801 Grill with friends from church. Then, we went to our photographer-turned-friend’s birthday party. It was so nice to be outside and enjoy the breeze!

{801 Grill}

{Lunch on the patio at the 801 Grill at Fresh}

Last night, we had fun skeet shooting with our Sunday School class. It rained for a few minutes but was otherwise a gorgeous night. Check out the sunset!

{Beautiful East Texas sunset}

{Beautiful East Texas sunset}

This morning as I got ready for church, I prayed that not only God would speak, but that I would hear. And boy, did I hear.

A dear friend led worship today and she sings with such power that all I can do is close my eyes and praise the Creator.

We ended with “It Is Well With My Soul.” I’ve heard people say, “I felt like that sermon was for me” or “that song was for me.” I’ve never really felt that way before, but there’s a first time for everything… and today was that day. It was exactly what I needed to hear. Music always soothes my soul, but today…. today it was a reminder that God’s got this. I am His child and all things work together for my good (Rom. 8:28).

If you’re not familiar with the story behind this song, it’s a heartbreaking one. The writer, Horatio Spafford, was a wealthy man back in the 1800s. When a string of unfortunate events turned his life upside down, many considered it to be divine punishment. But he knew better. He wrote the song shortly after hearing that his four daughters had died on their way to Europe from America when their ship sank. He had sent them on ahead with his wife, planning to meet them soon.

“Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.”

When life handed him grief and heartache, he turned to God. I yearn to be as faithful.

It’s hard to praise God when things are tough. It’s hard to be thankful when things are taken from you. But He knows our hearts. I’m figuring out it’s ok to be angry with Him. I think He would rather we come to Him with our hurts than turn away from Him. I know good and well I can’t do this alone. And I’m so thankful I don’t have to! Isaiah 46:4 says, “I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” Oh, how He has rescued me!

So be truly glad. There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you must endure many trials for a little while. These trials will show that your faith is genuine.[…] So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world.” 1 Peter 1:6-7

We haven’t been promised an easy life, but we have been promised that He will walk with us.

Even so, It is well with my soul.

With hope and love,
Kristen

One thought on “It Is Well

Leave a Reply

